Nursing Faculty and Staff

We Are Here For You!

Meet Kirkwood’s Department of Nursing! Our caring, passionate faculty and staff are here to help. Reach out if you have any questions about our hands-on degree programs.

Department Staff

Kathy Dolter
Kathryn Dolter, Ph.D., R.N.
Title: Dean, Nursing
Phone: 319-398-5563
Email: nursing@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172C Linn Hall
Education: B.S.N. and M.S.N.; University of Iowa
Ph.D.; University of California, San Francisco
Kara Stineman, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Associate Dean, Nursing (Clinical and Lab Coordination)
Phone: 319-398-4965
Email: kara.stineman@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172G Linn Hall

Education:

A.D.N., Kirkwood Community College

M.S.N., Mount Mercy University

Lauri Hughes
Lauri Hughes, MBA
Title: Department Coordinator and Pre-Nursing Advisor
Walk-In Advising Hours, prior to being assigned a permanent advisor, are 2 to 4 p.m. Tuesdays and Thursdays in 2172 Linn Hall
Phone: 319-398-5613
Email: lauri.hughes@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172D Linn Hall
Education: A.A.S.; Kirkwood Community College
B.S.; Mount Mercy University
MBA; University of Iowa
Annie Butler
Annie Butler, M.Ed.
Title: Retention Specialist
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4197
319-398-5563
Email: annie.butler@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172E Linn Hall
Education: B.S. and M.Ed.; Iowa State University
Amber Pattee, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Education Specialist II and Sim Educator
Email: amber.pattee@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172M Linn Hall
Education: R.N.; Hawkeye Community College
M.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
René Morris
René Morris
Title: Compliance Coordinator and Department Assistant
Phone: 319-398-4988
Email: rene.morris@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172 Linn Hall
Becki Karim
Title: Department Assistant
Phone: 319-398-5563
Email: becki.karim@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172 Linn Hall
April Smith
April Smith
Title: Department Assistant
Phone: 319-398-4989
Email: april.smith@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172 Linn Hall

Faculty Members

Erica Bernard, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Instructor
Email: erica.bernard@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172J Linn Hall
Education: A.D.N.; Kirkwood Community College
B.S.N.; University of Iowa
M.S.N.; Mount Mercy University 
Terri Cronbaugh, M.S.N., R.N., D.N.P.
Title: Instructor
Email: terri.cronbaugh@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172H Linn Hall
Education: A.D.N.; Kirkwood Community College
B.S.N.; University of Iowa
M.S.N.; University of Texas at Arlington
D.N.P.; Capella University
Marla Grosvenor
Marla Grosvenor, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Instructor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 7127
319-398-5563
Email: marla.grosvenor@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172J Linn Hall
Education: A.D.N.; Indian Hills Community College
B.S.N.; Chamberlain College of Nursing
M.S.N.; Aspen College
LJ Herdrich
LJ Herdrich, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Instructor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4351
319-398-5563
Email: lj.herdrich@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172H Linn Hall
Education: B.S.N.; Allen College
M.S.N.; Jacksonville University
D.N.P.; Walden University
Brianne Hildebrandt
Brianne Hildebrandt, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4017
319-398-5563
Email: brianne.hildebrandt@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172L Linn Hall
Education: B.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
M.S.N.; Allen College
Kayla Hubler
Kayla Hubler, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Instructor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4086
319-398-5563
Email: kayla.hubler@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172Q Linn Hall
Education: B.S.N. and M.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
Kiley Jordan
Kiley Jordan, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Instructor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4088
319-398-5563
Email: kiley.jordan@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172K Linn Hall
Education: A.D.N.; Kirkwood Community College
B.S.N.; Upper Iowa University
M.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
Stephanie Klappholz, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Instructor
Email: stephanie.klappholz@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172M Linn Hall
Education: B.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
M.S.N.; Clarkson College
Nicoleta Nica
Nicoleta Nica, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4343
319-398-5563
Email: nicoleta.nica@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172N Linn Hall
Education: A.D.N.; Kirkwood Community College
B.S.N.; Upper Iowa University
M.S.N.; Capella University
D.N.P.; Capella University
Ruth Lane
Ruth Roberts, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Instructor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4035
319-398-5563
Email: ruth.roberts@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172P Linn Hall
Education: B.S.N. and M.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
Jessica Rozek
Jessica Rozek, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4036
319-398-5563
Email: jessica.rozek@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172L Linn Hall
Education: B.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
M.S.N. with specialization in Nurse Educator; Walden University
Marsha Sabotta, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 7128
319-398-5563
Email: marsha.sabotta@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172H Linn Hall
Education: B.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
M.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
Laurie Simmons
Laurie Simmons, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5966
319-398-5563
Email: laurie.simmons@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172N Linn Hall
Education: A.D.N.; Kirkwood Community College
B.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
M.S.N. with specialization in Nursing Education; Walden University
D.N.P.; Capella University (in progress)
Jenny Storer
Jenny Storer, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5331
319-398-5563
Email: jennifer.storer@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172K Linn Hall
Education: B.A.N.; Luther College
M.S.N. with a specialization in Education; Walden University
Trisha Swartzendruber
Trisha Swartzendruber, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: 319-398-4992
319-398-5563
Email: trisha.swartzendruber@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172G Linn Hall
Education: B.S.N.; University of Iowa
M.S.N.; Mount Mercy University
Kim Woods
Kim Woods, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4352
319-398-5563
Email: kim.woods@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172Q Linn Hall
Education: A.D.N.; Kirkwood Community College
B.S.N.; Iowa State University
M.S.N.; Allen College
Debra Forbes
Debra Forbes, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Adjunct Emerita
Phone: 319-398-5563
Email: debra.forbes@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172 Linn Hall
Education: R.N.; Iowa Methodist School of Nursing, Diploma
B.S.N. and M.S.N.; University of Iowa
Mary Strong, M.S.N., R.N.
Title: Adjunct Emerita
Phone: 319-398-5563
Email: mary.strong@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2172 Linn Hall
Education: A.D.N.; North Iowa Area Community College
B.S.N.; Coe College
M.S.N.; University of Iowa