Human Resources Staff

Human Resources Staff

 

Have a question about benefits, compensation, or other work-related matters?

 

Here’s how to get in touch with our knowledgeable staff.

 

Organizational Chart

Department Staff

Wes Fowler
Wes Fowler
Title: Vice President, Human Resources
Phone: 319-398-7797
Email: wes.fowler@kirkwood.edu
Office: 313 Kirkwood Hall
Bio: Wes leads the Human Resources team and oversees all functions of the Human Resources Department.
Jacinta Kimani
Jacinta Kimani
Title: HR Specialist
Phone: 319-398-5572
Email: jacinta.kimani@kirkwood.edu
Office: 313 Kirkwood Hall
Bio: Jacinta provides office administrative support to the HR department.
  • Internal and external correspondence
  • Inquiries and visitors
  • Events
  • I-9 Verifications

Employee Relations

Sheri Hlavacek
Sheri Hlavacek
Title: Supervisor
Phone: 319-398-5615
Email: sheri.hlavacek@kirkwood.edu
Office: 313 Kirkwood Hall
Bio: Sheri manages employee relations issues.
  • FMLA
  • Workers’ compensation
  • Unemployment
  • Publishing policies and procedures

Talent Acquisition and Development

Sarah Brown
Sarah Brown
Title: Talent Acquisition Manager
Phone: 319-398-5607
Email: sarah.brown@kirkwood.edu
Office: 313 Kirkwood Hall
Bio: Sarah Leads the Talent Acquisition and Development Team (TAD).
  • Job descriptions
  • Compensation and job classifications for college employees
  • Recruiting candidates
  • Employee separations
Sreeja Sreelatha
Sreeja Sreelatha
Title: Generalist
Phone: 319-398-5521
Email: sreeja.sreelatha@kirkwood.edu
Office: 313 Kirkwood Hall
Bio: Sreeja is the primary point of contact for hiring needs.
  • Hiring committee support
  • Applicant support
  • Job offer approvals
  • Diversity, equity, and inclusion projects
Sally Schmidt
Sally Schmidt
Title: Department Coordinator
Phone: 319-398-5591
Email: sally.schmidt@kirkwood.edu
Office: 313 Kirkwood Hall
Bio: Sally provides administrative support to the Talent Acquisition and Development team.
  • New employee paperwork (part time, seasonal, adjunct, work-study, and tutors)
  • Background checks (including volunteers)
  • Motor vehicle records
  • Employee separations
  • Creating k-numbers

Payroll and Benefits

Linda Arens
Linda Arens
Title: Payroll and Benefits Manager
Phone: 319-398-4487
Email: linda.arens@kirkwood.edu
Office: 313 Kirkwood Hall
Bio: Linda leads the Payroll and Benefits team and oversees all aspects of payroll and benefits administration.
  • Administers benefits plans
  • Processes full-time payroll
  • Process college payroll
  • Hotel employee class/comp
Cindy Brunssen
Cindy Brunssen
Title: Payroll & Benefits Coordinator
Phone: 319-784-1707 
Email: cindy.brunssen@kirkwood.edu 
Office: 313 Kirkwood Hall
Bio:

Cindy oversees the payroll and benefits for The Hotel at Kirkwood Center.

  • On-boards full-time college employees
  • Performs benefits orientations for full-time employees

Learning and Development

Chris King
Chris King
Title: Learning and Organizational Development Manager
Phone: 319-398-7626
Email: chris.king@kirkwood.edu
Office: 2167 Linn Hall
Bio: Chris leads the Learning and Development team and provides direct support to managers.

  • Leadership development, coaching, and change management
  • Staff Performance Development Program
  • CliftonStrengths for teams
  • Q12/employee engagement program
Wilson Rojas
Wilson Rojas
Title: Learning and Development Supervisor
Phone: 319-398-1711
Email: wilson.rojas@kirkwood.edu
Office: Linn Hall 2196G, 2nd Floor
Bio: Wilson coordinates and facilitates training for employees.
  • College-wide training.
  • Organizes and develops staff training programs
  • DEI training
Stephanie Momany
Stephanie Momany
Title: Learning and Development Program Specialist
Phone: 319-398-4519
Email: stephanie.momany@kirkwood.edu 
Office: 2167 Linn Hall
Bio: Stephanie supports the learning and development programs, processes, and community.
  • Registration for training programs and events
  • Training event coordination
  • Compliance training

The Hotel at Kirkwood Center

Lauren Noble
Lauren Noble
Title: HR Supervisor
Phone: 319-398-8768
Email: lauren.noble@kirkwood.edu 
Office: The Hotel at Kirkwood Center room 109K
Bio: Lauren oversees all human resource functions for The Hotel at Kirkwood Center and The Café.
  • Recruiting
  • Orientation for new staff
  • Employee relations
  • Workers compensation and FMLA