Clubs & Organizations

Clubs & Organizations

Rally Around Your Interests & Passions

Joining a club or student organization is a great way to get involved in the Kirkwood community! With groups for nearly every interest area, you'll be sure to find a great new group of friends here. 

At Kirkwood, clubs are defined as general interest groups formed around a number of interests. Organizations are formed by the college and based around a specific academic area or program.

Request More Info Club Handbook Calendar of Events


Club Categories

Academic Organizations
Sports Clubs and Recreation
General Interest
Other Campus Groups
Iowa City Campus

Academic Organizations

Ag Business Club connects students interested in learning more about a variety of agricultural businesses with industry professionals and allows networking opportunities on and off campus. These relationships may lead to internships and potentially full time positions for our students.

Advisor: Tyler Krug, tyler.krug@kirkwood.edu

AHLA is the first student chapter in the nation at a two-year school. Join this professional organization dedicated to serving the interested of students studying hotel and restaurant management administration. Annual dues of $45 include major savings on AH&LA textbooks and school supplies. Many networking opportunities as well hospitality related scholarships. Group activities include community service and travel events. Leadership positions are available.

Advisor: Greg Krawiec, greg.krawiec@kirkwood.edu

Develop skills in using parli pro, business meeting agendas, delegation techniques, applied communication skills, organization, structure and job seeking. Including determining cooperative activities, organization funding, committee functions and leading discussion groups.

Advisor: Jessica Fox, jessica.fox@kirkwood.edu

The Conservation and Natural Resources Club is made up of students who are majoring in Parks and Natural Resources. As the future of the conversation field, we are committed to expanding our knowledge, exploring educational and career-related opportunities, and spreading a love for conservation through volunteer work and community outreach.

Advisor: Zac Hall, zac.hall@kirkwood.edu

Kirkwood Cyber Defense Club meets regularly to discuss cyber security, Networking, and Programming. Members have the opportunity to attend Cyber Defense competitions, like those held in Ames, Iowa.

Advisor: Shawn Lampe, Shawn.Lampe@kirkwood.edu

The group was designed for students enrolled in the Apparel Merchandising and Design program. The purpose of this group is to provide students with further fashion experiences beyond the classroom and encourage community.

Advisor: Elisha Stanley, elisha.stanley@kirkwood.edu

Create, organize, and participate in the beef industry activities including shows, leadership conferences, seminars, and field trips. Also to host social events and team building activities.

Advisor: Terry Chapman, terry.chapman@kirkwood.edu

Horticulture Club supports plant enthusiasts that want to apply principles learned in class in an open environment. With guidance from the Greenhouse staff, members have the capability to explore the vast science of plants through expressionisms.

Advisor: Shawna Moss, shawna.moss@kirkwood.edu

Expand your awareness of interior design, enjoy tours, and networking opportunities while connecting with other interior design students.

Advisor: Jillissa Moorman, jillissa.moorman@kirkwood.edu

KSNA provides professional development and volunteer opportunities with in the nursing field. Open to pre- and current nursing students.

Advisor: Annie Butler, annie.butler@kirkwood.edu

OADN Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society recognizes the academic excellence of students in the study of Associate Degree Nursing. The society encourages life-long learning and professional responsibility to the nursing profession.

Advisor: Annie Bulter, annie.bulter@kirkwood.edu

Alpha Eta Rho is Kirkwood’s Cedar Rapids chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa, the honor society for two-year colleges. Alpha Eta Rho’s purpose is to an honor society but also promote civic engagement through projects prescribed by PTK international. It also fosters leadership skills for its active members.

You must have completed at least 12 transferable credit hours of coursework applied to an associate degree and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 to be a member. Once a member, must maintain a GPA of 3.3 or higher.

Advisor: Sondra Gates, sondra.gates@kirkwood.edu

The Respiratory Therapy Club promotes camaraderie amongst Respiratory Therapy Students furthers application of coursework and connects students in a meaning way to Respiratory Care related experiences outside of Kirkwood academia.

Advisor: Liliana Hoffnagle, liliana.hoffnagle@kirkwood.edu

The STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) Club is open to all students. Come join us for a range of activities at our meetings in Linn Hall. We also participate in outside events such as conferences, and have an end of the year trip in May.

Advisor: Andy Mills, andy.mills@kirkwood.edu

To empower women in our program by providing tools for success in their future conversation careers as stewards of the land. In this club, students have the opportunity to building connections and relationships with like-minded people. As a motivated collection, we champion conversation causes on a local level and in our school.

Advisor: Ken Carrol, ken.carrol@kirkwood.edu

The 3D Art Club is open to students looking to expand their interest and skills of the Ceramic, Glass, Sculpture, and other areas of Art. Members produce artwork, travel to arts related events, and invite professional artists to campus for demonstrations.

Advisor: Zach Wollert, zach.wollert@kirkwood.edu


Sports Clubs and Recreation

Kirkwood’s co-ed cheerleading team cheers at all home Men’s and Women’s Basketball teams and also competes in cheerleading competition.

Advisor: Lynn Lueck, lynn.lueck@kirkwood.edu

Join the Kirkwood Dance Team! Open tryouts are held each spring and fall. The team performs at sporting events, local and state competition and more!

Advisor: Lynn Lueck, lynn.lueck@kirkwood.edu

The Kirkwood eSports Club is dedicated to promoting a positive and engaging environment for competitive gaming on Kirkwood Community College’s campus, and to provide opportunities to play in organized events to our members and community, no prior experience needed.

Advisor: Quinten Kilborn, quinten.kilborn@kirkwood.edu

Intramurals are a great way to experience team building and camaraderie while meeting other students and employees on campus. Intramurals are designed to provide competitive, recreational activities for participation at any skill level.

Advisor: Brett Baumgart, brett.baumgart@kirkwood.edu

Kirkwood Sports Shooting team competes with other Iowa Community College’s teams.

Advisor: Darren Zabloudil, darren.zabloudil@kirkwood.edu


General Interest

Active Minds is a national student-run organization designed to promote mental health awareness and decrease the stigma on college campuses. Students have the opportunity to develop creative communication strategies regarding mental health issues and implement thought-provoking activities. Active Minds allows students to cultivate leadership skills, increase knowledge of mental health issues, and is an excellent resume builder and networking opportunity.

Advisor: Angie Ziesman Weiler, angie.ziesmanweiler@kirkwood.edu

Students dedicated to spreading awareness of Deaf culture and promotion of Deaf events and American Sign Language. All students currently enrolled in or planning to enroll in an American Sign Language course are encouraged to join.

Advisor: Julia Rabe, julia.rabe@kirkwood.edu

The Bowling Club is a group of students who meet periodically to bowl and have fun. No experiecne is required beyond an interest in having some fun!

Advisor: Nick Sagan, Nick.Sagan@kirkwood.edu

A club for people to play casual board and card games, meet new people, and most importantly have fun. It is a place for people to drop in whenever to relax, play games, and socialize. 

Advisor: Joshua Baker, Joshua.Baker@kirkwood.edu

The Cedar Valley Divide is an art and literary magazine that brings student, staff, and community work to print. Student staff members get to decide on which submissions to publish and how to shape the magazine for our yearly publications.

Advisor: Lisa Angelella, lisa.angelella@kirkwood.edu

Chi Alpha is a Spirit-empowered community of men and women who are committeed to seeing Kirkwood students encounter God and grow with their friend.

Advisor: Matt Haegle, Matt.Haegle@kirkwood.edu

Students just like you are invited to come together as a team to bring new ideas, energy, and creativity to the student newspaper at Kirkwood Community College. The goal is to gain and develop new skills such as writing, photography, layout, design, photography, and communication, along with many others.

Advisor: Sarah Mangold, sarah.mangold@kirkwood.edu

We welcome everyone who wants to learn about different cultures around the world. Both international and domestic students are encouraged to join. We offer a vareity of cultural events and help newcomers as they adjust to life in Iowa.

Advisor: Shannon Ingleby, Shannon.Ingleby@kirkwood.edu

Dance Marathon is a year-round student run organization that works to support patients being treated at the University of Iowa Stead Family Children’s Hospital. Dance Marathon students work year around to raise fund to support the families while building leadership, responsibility, and communication skills.

Advisor: Emily Grace, emily.grace@kirkwood.edu

Kirkwood Student Productions is a club committed to the development of future media professionals. Encouraging education, creative vision, and collaboration, KSP members learn the true value of teamwork and relationship building. Student develop their technical skills through the production of original content in an effort to inspire and influence the world around them.

Advisor: Randy Langel, randy.langel@kirkwood.edu

The Navigators at Kirkwood Community College is a group that exists to know Jesus Christ, make him known, and help others do the same. We provide small-group Bible studies that are open to all students. The Navigators at Kirkwood seek to provide a compassionate community on campus for students to explore the Christian faith through reading the Bible together.

Advisor: Erik Ryan, erik.ryan@kirkwood.edu

Kirkwood Pride is Kirkwood’s student group for LGBTQIA+ people and allies. We aim to provide a positive environment and a space to share concerns. This safe, welcoming environment promotes awareness, equality, and acceptance and educates the community about LGBTQIA+ issues.

Advisor: Eliot Blake, eliot.blake@kirkwood.edu

SEEDS clubs is a great place to go to learn more about sustainable ideas and gardening in general. Gain access to fresh produce or even garden spaces. Spend time with like-minded individuals sharing and learning more about sustainability and gardening, while contributing to the community as a whole.

Advisor: Sue Novak, sue.novak@kirkwood.edu

Student Ambassadors assist with the Admissions Office with campus visits. They meet with prospective students and their families during Campus Visit Days to share their own college experiences and give campus tours. They get students excited about a future at Kirkwood.

Advisor: Nick Kettmann, nick.kettmann@kirkwood.edu

A group of student leaders who help the Student Life office plan, promote, and carry out events and activities hosted by the college.

Advisor: Seth Vander Tuig, seth.vandertuig@kirkwood.edu

Students for Salt Company is affiliated with TSC, a college ministry of Veritas Church. Is exists to passionately influence students at Kirkwood Community College with the gospel, raising up leaders who are trained, equipped, and released for a lifetime of pursuing Jesus. The Salt Company gathers on Thursday nights during the school year and summer for worship and teaching, as well as throughout the week in student-led connection groups.

Advisor: Jillissa Moorman, jillissa.moorman@kirkwood.edu

The Kirkwood Sustainability Club and Committee exists for students, faculty, staff and administration to work together developing solutions to our climate crisis through sustainability effort on all campuses while aligning with the community’s climate action goals. All are invited to help increase the awareness of environmental issues and address substantiality concerns on campus. We will host creative workshops, guest speakers, share tips, screen documentaries and more.

Advisor: Cheryl Valenta, Cheryl.valenta@kirkwood.edu

Advisor: Blaise Boles, blaise.boles@kirkwood.edu

Advisor: David Jennerjohn, david.jennerjohn@kirkwood.edu 

Have you ever been interested in playing games such as Dungeons & Dragons? Come try out D&D and games like it with the Table Top Gaming Club!

Advisor: Tim Robbins, timothy.robbins@kirkwood.edu

We want to share Jesus with Kirkwood and serve Kirkwood and its students however we can! We are a group of people radically changed by God and we want to share how good He is. 

Advisor: Mark McCreary, Mark.McCreary@kirkwood.edu

This group of students work together with their shared passion of wood working and creating amazing pieces. 

Advisor: Steve Hanisch, Steve.Hanisch@kirkwood.edu


Other Campus Groups

Learn more about Kirkwood’s national championship-winning athletics. Please contact Lynn Lueck, lynn.lueck@kirkwood.edu for more info.

  • Chamber Ensemble: A small instrumental ensemble performing traditional concert literature. Performs for campus and community groups.
  • Concert Band: A large instrumental ensemble performing repertoire from various style periods. Performs on and off campus to promote musical education for students and audiences.
  • Jazz Combo: A small instrumental ensemble performing traditional and contemporary jazz. Performs on campus and for community groups.
  • Jazz Ensemble: This 20-piece band performs both traditional and contemporary jazz for on-campus audiences and community groups. Designed to promote musical education.

Advisor: Joe Pereajoe.perea@kirkwood.edu

  • Choral: A 60-member choir performing a variety of historical and contemporary styles of music for campus and community groups.
  • Jazz Transit: A vocal ensemble performing traditional and contemporary jazz for students, community groups and in competitions.

Advisor: Dr. Fred Kiser, fred.kiser@kirkwood.edu

Student-produced comedy, musical and dramatic performance for students and the community. Students are responsible for acting and all technical elements for three productions each year.

Advisor: Allison Holmes-Bendixen, allison.holmes-bendixen@kirkwood.edu


Iowa City Campus

To learn about the clubs available on the Iowa City Campus, please contact Kristie Leeman, kristie.leeman@kirkwood.edu.